Generalized lymphatic anomaly (GLA)

GLA is the new, classified name for lymphangiomatosis. Both names are still being used.



In 2014 the International Society for the Study of Vascular Anomalies (ISSVA) approved an updated and expanded classification for vascular anomalies. The names lymphangiomatosis and Gorham’s were also classified by the ISSVA. ISSVA organises biennial workshops to promote clinical and scientific research that will lead to advances in knowledge on all aspects of vascular anomalies.

Other terms used in the literature:


  • Generalized lymphangiomatosis
  • Diffuse lymphangiomatosis
  • Disseminated lymphangiomatosis
  • Multi-organ lymphangiomatosis
  • Pulmonary lymphangiomatosis
  • Thoraric lymphangiomatosis
  • Cystic lymphangiomatosis
  • Skeletal/Extraskeletal lymphangiomatosis
  • Cranial lymphangiomatosis
  • Lymphangiomatosis of the bone
  • Lymphangiomatosis of the spine
  • Cervicothorax lymphangiomatosis
  • Abdominal lymphangiomatosis
  • Splenic lymphangiomatosis
  • Renal lymphangiomatosis


Vascular Malformation:

  • Vascular anomaly
  • Lymphatic malformation (microcystic or macrocystic)
    Lymphatic malformation (LM) is a classification from Mulliken-Glowacki (1982) which was adopted by the ISSVA in 1996.


  • Cystic lymphangioma
  • Mesenteric lymphangioma
  • Retroperitoneal lymphangioma
  • Abdominal lymphangioma
  • Vertebral lymphangioma


  • Angiomatosis
  • Hemangioma
  • Hemangiomatosis


  • Gorham’s disease
  • Gorham-Stout syndrome
  • Disappearing, vanishing or phantom bone disease
  • Massive osteolysis

There is a great deal of debate and confusion surrounding the terminology used when a patient is given the diagnosis of lymphangiomatosis (or variation of the name).


Source: (April 5th, 2016)